In the past years, more and more children choose to play computer games in their free time instead of reading books. Do the advantages of this change the outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays many children prefer spending time playing computer games rather than reading books. While there are some benefits from these games, I believe that this tendency has much more of a negative impact on children. On the one hand, computer games can be entertaining and educational. Virtual word provides an opportunity to be in unrealistic and exciting places, which is really gripping for youngsters. Also, these games can influence on competitive spirit since you have to pass levels and solve problems. Moreover, when you play games your logical thinking and motor skills are being improved which can be really useful in real life. Conversely, there is a multitude of reasons why reading books are much better than computer games. First of all, sitting in front of a computer for long hours is harmful to health, especially for the eye site. Furthermore, children can be addicted to their gadgets and spend all their free time in the virtual world and lose their social skills and connection with the real world. Whereas reading encourages imagination and creativity. Also throughout reading young people can learn something new about history and culture as well as expand their vocabulary. In conclusion, video games can be exciting and useful. However, I believe that they have more potential dangers and drawbacks than reading books.