Should unis give equal admission to boys and girls

In this day and age gender equality has been at the forefront of the discussion of social and political issues. A plethora of countries are adopting unprejudiced steps to solve this ongoing issues and create a safe space for women. This started with the guarantee of fundamental rights, to vote, to own land, to get education, to have a job that has undoubtedly progressed the society’s perception of gender roles. However, to achieve true freedom from patriarchy it's not so simple to create legislation in favour of gender equality. So should universities accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject? I disagree. By witnessing the disparity of distribution of the sexes in distinct fields throughout the years, it's ineffective to follow such a system. There has been and probably always would be a gap in the gender ratio in different subjects with some being harsher then the others. For example, engineering-related majors tend to be more male-dominated and nursing more female-dominated. But does that mean that certain genders are suitable for certain subjects? No, people should be free to choose their subject of study. I also believe that these divisions shouldn’t be discouraging for prospective applicants to apply to courses where they are in the minority, after all the goal of these educational entities is to ensure a fair chance for everyone. Yet by creating a structure where the administration officers must follow a procedure such as to warrant equal number of men and women in every single faculty is impossible. Such a methodology cannot guarantee a positive improvement in the gender gaps. Every student has the potential to learn and grow and to contribute to the betterment of the community. Its simply counterproductive as it creates a gender bias despite ensuring equal numbers from each sex. I am confident that to decrease gender divide it must start from schooling itself. Students should be encouraged to take part in contrasting fields. They must be trained to develop a more broad-minded approach towards different fields of study. This way we can combat gender bias in subjects areas by allowing students to be more comfortable in choosing paths which they are passionate about. Overall I believe that women receive equal opportunities they must be motivated at a young age and not by creating a plain reservation of seats in universities as this merely hinder the chances of applicants genuinely interested in the subject by choosing to ignore the achievements and abilities of students