Should uniforms be required at school?

Nowadays, students' attires for school have been concerned by both parents and children. Many think that casual clothes are more comfortable for students. However, school uniforms should be required because of the benefits below. First, uniforms create a sense of equality for the students in the learning institutions. Because not all students are privileged or come from wealthy families, wearing uniforms will make social status no longer be an issue. It also reduces the worries of students who face low self-esteem. Additionally, the rate of bullying has significantly decreased as there are fewer differences amongst students. By wearing school uniforms, all students will appear the same. Thus, equality between classes will be sustained. Second, school uniforms help save parents' money. In today's life, parents have to deal with lots of financial issues, and one of them is children's needs for clothes. If there are no uniforms, children will have to wear their costumes to school. Consequently, their demands for different and fashionable clothes - which are costly and sometimes unaffordable - will rise. However, school uniforms will be a solution to this problem since they can be purchased once a year and be worn all through the year. As a result, it can reduce families' financial burdens. Wearing school uniforms also encourages discipline in school. It makes people follow a common standard and not think of wearing something different or going against the majority. Also, it is a constant reminder to the students of where they are, making them pause and think of the consequences before doing impulsive actions that may affect the school's image. In these cases, uniforms have improved students' behavior and self-restraint.