should students take gap year before college? give your opinion

To date, teenagers tend to take a gap year after high school graduation, which is a controversial problem. While a great number of people believe youth is beneficial from a gap year, others are on the opposite side of the statement. With a view to elaborating on the insight, this essay will point out the merits of opting for a gap year. First and foremost, it is obvious that students should embrace the opportunity of being free for a year as a chance to explore and learn, as they can get to know about things which have not been written in books. To be more specific, students should sign up for trips around the world, in order to improve language and interpersonal skills, as well as learning about new cultures. A gap year is likely to be a golden chance, as individuals do not seem to be interrupted by schooling or courses; besides they are able to unwind after a long period of time studying and feeling stressful. Moreover, a gap year is also the time when knowledge-seekers can search for more information about several promising lands, high-ranking colleges or even preparation for studying abroad. For instance, students may spend a gap year to visit the USA, a country which is considered to be appealing to worldwide citizens, and they can attend several meetings to get an overview about their favorite institutions. Subsequently, teenagers may set up a plan to be admitted to that school and make self-orientation to accomplish the task. Furthermore, a gap year is undeniably a great opportunity for the youth to discover personal interests, as they have spent over 10 years studying and obeying parental instructions. As a matter of fact, not everyone is born to shine in the field of academics, and a gap year permits one to find out what they desire to do in the future. When it comes to choosing a career, teenagers are likely to hesitate, as their dreams are in contrast to their parents’ expectations. Though certain thoughts at the age of puberty might be spontaneous and uncontrollable, it is vital for youngsters to depict their own interests, instead of following others’ requirements and feeling regretful in the future. Also, there are a plethora of students, who took a gap year and followed their dreams, have succeeded and are financially independent. From the afore-mentioned analysis, it is clear that a gap year beneficially supports students, as they can explore new countries and find out their own interests. In spite of being obstructed by relatives or several hardships while living abroad, a gap year offers a chance, which may not appear twice.