Prevention is better than cure. To what extent do you agree?

It is stipulated that figuring out the mechanisms of a particular disease and subsequently finding out the cure for it is a lot more expensive than simply finding out ways to ensure it does not affect people at all. I agree with this statement as investing in preventative measures is not time-sensitive, is cost-effective and allows for a constantly healthy population. Researching a disease after it affects the population results in researchers being put into a time constraint to figure out solutions to the illnesses. When a disease strikes and adversely affects a large section of the population, disease specialists rush to put together a solution. This is to limit the spread of the disease and minimize the effect it has on the population. The issue with doing so is that, it might lead to vaccines or medications being produced that are approved by regulatory bodies and it costs substantially more to figure out a solution as larger teams are required to figure out solutions rapidly. For example when the COVID-19 pandemic hit the world, it spread fast. It affected a large portion of the globe and it was hard to keep under control. Drug manufacturers such as Pfizer and Oxford rushed to create vaccines, which was issued to the public without rigorous testing and FDA approval. Investing in preventative measures results in a population that is not affected and functions normally. If we rid the problem before it affects us, we no longer have to deal with the problem; we no longer have to suffer from the disease. The effects of preventative measures are minimal. They tend to cause a flu or rash which leads to a patient being sick for a maximum of a few days whereas if the person is afflicted with the disease itself, it is more than likely the patient will have to spend a long time in hospital which leads to more suffering and care usually costs more. The vaccine for tuberculosis is a great example of this. Most people are issued this vaccine when they are newborns. This vaccine does tend to cause the child to get a fever and develop sores, however that outweighs the pain, suffering and in some cases fatality that tuberculosis might cause. In conclusion, preventative measures are not only cost effective for companies and governments; it is also much easier on a person. The ill-effects of a vaccine is nowhere near the suffering caused by the disease itself which is why I completely agree that prevention is better than cure.