Many children these days prefer to watch television and video games for long hours. To what extent it's advantages outweigh the disadvantagses

Ever since the advent of television and video games, these have drawn attention covering wider field of audience. However, these days juveniles are found being more inclined towards the former spending prolonged hours on it. In my perception this phenomenon carry more drawbacks then benefits. To start with the disadvantages, television and video games are prime source of distraction from studies for adolescents. Owing to deep involvement in these gadgets many children had reported that they sometimes end up losing important things to do. Secondly, indulging themselves into such things made them more vulnerable to become an introvert. Instead of spending time with their family many prefer isolation over interaction. To add more, addiction of these gizmos has adverse effects. It not only affect visual health but at the same time prove detrimental from physical health perspectives. To illustrate, a study conducted by UNICEF in 2019 revealed that 59% of pupils suffer from obesity due to lack of inactivity as they invest excess time on video games and television. On the other hand, it possess some positives too. The games and television serve a way to took some break from the monotonous study routines. Several games are also known to uplift the young one's intellectual ability. For instance, a worldwide popular game Sudoku leads to mind sharpening and improve the brain reflexes of young game enthusiastics along with intended purpose of enjoyment. To recapitulate, although there are various loopholes of this preference. Yet, it's advantages can be overlooked provided that these are used in a most optimum way.