Should sports be made a compulsory subject for all students in school?

Over the last few decades, children are getting less and less active in their free time than they used to, and because of this, some suggested that making sports lessons should be mandatory at school, of which I partly agree with. On the upper hand, the governments would have to waste a large portion of money on medical services to these unfit people, which could be seen in a staggering 80% of children being too fat or too thin in the US. Furthermore, physical activities improve younglings mentally and physically since they won't have any friends or strength without spending time together. Moreover, playing games together is a lesson about discipline. Thus these younglings need to learn about teamwork as well. In contrast, there is some downside with this. For example, PE means more sports facilities, so not every school can afford to do that. To add up with that, spending too much time going outside will consume students lots of valuable study time, which is even worse with those who don't adore playing sports. In addition, computers, televisions, with many other entertaining services are also factors that cause the inactivity in this group of people. Therefore, limiting their time at these is also an alternative solution, since forcing them to learn sports is just a temporary method to hold them back from these kinds of visual entertainment. To sum up, making sports lessons compulsory has some excellent benefits, but some are holding them back, so I don't think this is the best idea in my opinion, as there are some other ways to make them energetic!