SHOULD SMOKING BE BANNED IN PUBLIC AREAS?

From my perspective, smoking should be entirely banned in public areas due to its nasty effects on our modern society. First of all, smoking is extremely harmful to our health since it can reduce life by 9-10 years. Medical research has proven that cigarettes contain about 600 ingredients, many of which are poisonous, and at least 69 substances linked to cancer, such as nicotine, acetone, tar, and carbon monoxide. Moreover, smoking also raises blood pressure, weakens blood vessel walls, and increases blood clots. Together, this raises your risk of stroke. You’re also at an increased risk of worsening breathing problems and heart diseases. Besides, a number of studies indicate that non-smoker is at twice the risk of developing a deadly smoking-related disease compared with the active smoker. Secondly, smoking has many negative effects on nature as it is a cause of pollution. Scientists have shown that cigarettes have approximately 4000 chemicals, which are breathed out and released into the air. Also, during the rainy season, there are more annual wildfires caused by smoker's debris than ones caused by natural sources according to recent reports. Furthermore, almost cigarette butts finally end up in lakes and rivers. As a result, fish and other aquatic animals are poisoned because they accidentally eat these butts. Last but not least, smoking contributes a significant burden on the budget. As its consumption leads to numerous diseases in both active smokers and passive smokers, smoking-related patients create major health care expenses which put pressure on their families. More dangerously, smoking has a destructive influence on teenagers. Young teens consider smoking a sign of their adolescence. Smoking should be banned in public areas because of its nasty effects.