Indian economy and coronavirus

The economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic in India has been largely disruptive India's growth in the fourth quarter of the fiscal year 2020 contracted to 3. 1%. In 2020, an estimated 10 million migrant workers returned to their native places after the imposition of the lockdown. India's $2. 9 trillion economy remains shuttered during the lockdown period. All the major sectors of the economy were badly hit except agriculture. The various sectors which have been affected are aviation, construction and real estate, small-scale manufacturing, and tourism. Up to 53% of businesses in the country were projected to be significantly affected. The government announced a variety of measures to tackle the situation like food security and extra funds for healthcare and the states sector-related incentives and tax deadline extensions. From growing only 4% in 2019-20 to contracting 7-8% in 2020-21 to staring at another low economic growth recovery in 2021, India has been virtually stopped in all its tracks. This was the worst performance of the Indian economy in any year since independence. As of now, India is back to pre-COVID 19 growth