Should smoking be banned completely?

Since the late 1900s, there have been numerous researches and scientific publications from scientists proving the harms of smoking. What used to be considered a trait of the nobles and intellectuals has now become an unhealthy and often disliked habit. Although there have been arguments suggesting that smoking ought to be strictly prohibited, I find myself teaming up with the opposite side that smoking should not be completely forbidden, but rather be carefully supervised. One of the reasons for me to believe that smoking should not be banned lies in the mental benefits that cigarettes can provide to certain groups of people. Though it cannot be denied that excessive smoking does cause severe problems to smokers’ health, especially their lungs, it is also proven by scientists to have a calming effect for some people who have to suffer from anxiety. This is considered an effective way to relieve stress by inhaling and exhaling a small amount of nicotine, which can sometimes be considered as a type of painkiller, to ease their minds and neuron systems. Another reason to oppose putting an absolute restriction on smoking is the economic value that the tobacco industry brings. The tax rate being put on the tobacco industry is extremely high as governments do not consider this to be an essential commodity. Though being taxed up to 80% of their value, cigarettes are still being highly consumed with thousands and millions of packs being sold every day. The revenue that a tobacco company receives annually is enormous and so is the money they have to pay for all kinds of taxes, which will eventually serve as a part of the national budget. All in all, though I cannot say that smoking does not bring harm to anyone, I still believe that smoking should not be outlawed as it brings not only medical but also economic benefits. Besides, everyone should have freedom of making choices, to smoke or not to smoke, as long as they do not cause the people surrounding them to become passive smokers by doing so in open, public spaces or smoking-restricted areas.