Many employees are able to work at home these days with the help of modern technology. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, advanced technology makes it possible for people to work from home. Although there are some drawbacks to this trend, I tend to believe that the advantages are more significant. As for the disadvantage of working remotely at home, the teamwork spirit would diminish when employees do not have face-to-face interaction with one another. Isolated workers tend to feel more stressed compared to contended employees who are able to participate in traditional team building exercises, resulting in decreased productivity and efficiency of businesses. Missing out on socializing with coworkers and sharing ideas in person can also lead to employee demotivation as there is no healthy competition between them. Despite the mentioned disadvantage, I am convinced that working from home is more beneficial. Firstly, when employees have the option to work at home, they do not have to waste much of their time and money commuting to and from work. Saving the time spent in traffic or waiting for a late bus to arrive and cutting the expenses of daily commute such as fuel and parking lead to a more pleasant working experience. What is more, employees can benefit from flexible working hours and organize their own working schedule. This can help them spend more quality time with their families and achieve a better work-life balance, which can have a positive effect on both their performance and attitude. In conclusion, according to substantial benefits including reducing workers commuting costs and helping them to find a better balance in their life, I think that the advantages of working from home outweigh its disadvantages.