Should sex education be taught in schools

Should Sex Education Be Taught In Schools? Anis Syazwani binti Ahmad Bolkiah Neil Erickson anak Nelyson “This is the real world, and in the real world, you need protection, ” – Cherie Richards, a freshman in the College of Arts and Sciences. (Antonuk, 2006) Sex education remains one of the most controversial topics to be discussed on whether or not it should be taught in schools. While most students would agree that the matter itself should be implemented in school however adults most importantly parents do not share the same view. They believe that students are not that mature to understand the nuances of the subject and such infromation might even lead them to conduct sexual experimentation. Contrary to their beliefs, sex ed does not prove to be encouraging sexual activity but instead it encourage chastity and provide adolescents with the knowledge and skills of responsible sexual propriety. Accordingly, I disagree with the adults presupposition and widely believe that sex education is crucial to be taught in schools on the grounds that they provide exposure to students, educate them of their body and vitally protects them. Firstly, sex education exposes students to the risks of performing vaginal sex. This area includes the precautions, safety and consequences. Many students are ignorant to the effects of unprotected sex and the health problems that it comes with. Henceforward, they perform premarital sex and ignore the repercussion of their actions. This can lead to an array of social and health problems. For instance, sex ed provides students with knowledge of the functionality of a condom is not just to prevent ejaculation of sperms but also to prevent the transmission of sexually transmitted diseases. Thus, sexual education is important to educate students on the risks of vaginal intercourse. Besides, they get to learn about their body in a sexual aspect. Knowing how the body works is undeniably good so that the individual can keep track of their sexual health and prevent unwanted issues. For example, men should know how to treat their body correctly to ensure the reproductive organs function properly such as good sperm production by the testis. Therefore, it is beneficial for the students to learn about their sexual anatomy. Sexual education also covers the safety aspect of an individual. Teenagers and younger children are very vulnerable to sexual harassment and assaults. Adolescents might not be aware of what have been cruelly done to them due to limited knowledge on this issue. At this range of age, they are victims against the more dominant rapist. An easy example of this case is pedophilia in which an adult has sexual desires towards small children who are commonly gullible and easy to lure. Hence, by knowing about sexual harassment and assaults, students can keep themselves safe. In conclusion, sex education is crucial because it enables them to protect themselves and also ensures a bright future ahead. Exposure of sex gives them conscience on the consequences of sexual intercourse. Students get to learn about the human reproductive organ and also learn to keep the dangers or rape at bay. That being said, I stand my ground in saying that sex education should be taught in schools.