Should schoolchildren be required to study a musical instrument for at least a year? Explain your answer.

It is often said by teachers that all children should learn to play a musical instrument. In my opinion, I believe that knowledge of playing the musical instruments can be useful for any kid along with the other subjects that he or she is learning in Schools. First and foremost, music in general helps to bring a balance to a child's life, as children who learn to play an instrument have an outlet for creativity. To further explain, learning to play an instrument stimulates the brain cells, improving functions like memory and abstract reasoning skills, which are essential for both math and science. To illustrate my point, by studying all day in school children become exhausted and they need some mind relaxation. By playing a musical instrument after finishing their homework can be helpful for refreshing the mind and changing the mood. Furthermore, advanced research says that early knowledge of playing musical instruments can lead to an improvement of memory and children's learning ability by stimulating the different patterns of brain development. What is more, playing musical instruments teaches patience to the children as they spend a lot of time with it and learn how to control the instrument because they put a lot of effort into it, which can be weeks, months and even years. It can also help the kids to set short term and long term goals and can manage the time period required to achieve it. For instance, as experts suggest, "excess of anything is dangerous to a person's mental health so playing musical instruments can calm the pressure of a hectic study schedule for hardworking students, and it will help to improve the learning ability and patience in children. All things considered, playing musical instruments from early childhood has a direct impact on learning abilities that are equally important as the other subjects the child is learning at school. I firmly believe all children should be afforded the opportunity to become the next Vanessa Mae. To my absolute disgust, children living in South Asian countries have less opportunities compared to kids in European countries that may cause a deficit in certain abilities compared to their counterparts in western countries.