Should ordinary man be given the license yo keep a revolver and gun?

Nowadays safety is crucial for everyone due to increase in crime rate. Some people believe that normal residents should be entitled to keep weapon. While some oppose it. My opinion falls in line with former view. But I will diversify both the aspects in ensuing paragraphs. To substantiate my view point, there are several reasons. First and foremost is, a person can become safe against prepetator. To be more precise, many people are indulged in crime activities and harmful object like gun, revolver which may lead to serious injury to someone and if ordinary people can defence theirselve if they have any weapon resulting in decreased crime rate. Next, younger as well as old person can roam out of their home with safety. Because many of the prepetators targets the children or old citizens because they are not much capable to fight and if they have objects which consist ammunition may lead to their safety. However there are various aspects that why some oppose it. The most obvious one is, it can give rise to many troubles. For example if a children use the revolver and gun by mistake it can harm others which may lead to problem for their parents to give answer if this shoot. To conclude, both sides have their own strong arguments. But I personally believe that it should be allowed.