Some people believe that children have the freedom to make mistake, while other argue that adult should prevent them from doing so. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

A child’s upbringing plays an indisputably significant role in shaping a person. Some people believe that parents have a certain responsibility for children’s mistakes as they should prevent children from them, while others think that children should be allowed to make mistakes freely. There is a strong case to be made for both sides of the debate. On the one hand, supporters of parents’ intervention highlight that most of the mistakes children are prone to making are unnecessary and avoidable. For instance, parents should teach their children to be careful with dangerous things such as knives, fire, and electricity rather than let them experience and get hurt. Additionally, parents are responsible for raising and protecting their children from harm. Therefore, by preemptively helping their children avoid making mistakes, parents feel better about themselves due to their endeavours in fulfilling the duty. On the other hand, advocates of the trial and error method often argue that parents cannot be around their kids all the time, so children make mistakes when experiencing new things is inevitable. Furthermore, there are many invaluable lessons that children can learn through mistakes, which might not be taught by any educational method. A child who did get hurt by playing with fire may be more cautious in such a situation without being warned by an adult, for example. Last but not least, from this side of the debate, people emphasize that children who are shielded from everything will grow up to be self-centred and over-dependent on other people. In conclusion, I believe that the stronger argument is letting children learn from their mistakes, with all the advantages of preparing them for their future. However, parents should intervene and give guidance whenever children suffer from a hard problem or make a big mistake.