Should Olympic athletes be tested for drugs?

The idea of being a winner in a prominent sporting event may motivate athletes to turn to performance-enhancing drugs. In this regard, some people are firmly convinced that athletes should be tested for drugs, while others consider it ineffective. I believe that drug testing programs can help to organize fair sporting events as well as avoid hazardous consequences to the health of participants. The struggle with doping and detecting it has become a large-scale problem in conducting fair sporting games. The reason for testing athletes for drugs is to create conditions for fair and healthy competition, so detection of illegal chemicals can help to encourage participants to come to winning with their perseverance and hard work. Besides, fame and material reward should be received by the one who improved his skills with work and dedication, which will correspond to both the moral principles and the original goal of the Olympic Games. Furthermore, another reason behind this is to protect sportsmen from harm to their health from these illicit substances, also, officials decided to implement a drug testing program because there have been some fatalities for athletes who received a chemical supplement to enhance their skills. Additionally, over the past fifty years there has been a steady increase in accuracy of testing programs for PED (performance-enhancing drugs). Scientists have still kept working on its amelioration which may lead to the discovery of new useful innovations in the medical sphere or find out more effective treatments for serious illnesses such as cancer, HIV infection and others. Moreover, there is the possibility of creating alternative organic supplements for athletes that may help to improve their skills without harm to a health. To sum up, the initial aim of the Olympic games was to find the man with the most powerful spirit and body who had to win without cheating in the honest game. In modern sporting events, society and officials must follow this concept, therefore drug testing of athletes is fair enough and in many aspects is effective and beneficial not only for the testers, but also for the athletes.