Should murderers be charged with death penalty?

Almost everyone would agree with the fact that, in order to live peacefully and co-exist with other humans, society ought to have rules and boundaries. When someone disobeys the rules or oversteps the boundaries, the court takes action with acts of punishment so as to serve justice. Some crimes and felonies are so brutal and ruthless, that society demands the death penalty for the guilty. However, it is also true that by punishing someone with execution, citizens are also guilty of murder themselves. Therefore, this act shouldn’t be considered and life in prison is a better alternative. To begin with, no matter how badly we want the culprit to be punished, there is always a chance that he is innocent. Would you be able to go on with life if you knew someone innocent had been wrongly executed? It’s a rare occurrence but it is still possible. Usually, when evidence suggests that someone is guilty, people assume right away that this person is actually guilty, and the court should announce its verdict as soon as possible. It’s no secret that criminals hold on to their part of the story in order to avoid containment and come up with a variety of ways to prove themselves innocent. Even though citizens would have a hard time believing them, in some cases the accused person is actually telling the truth and doesn’t deserve to be put in jail, let alone be executed. For instance, John Coffey in the movie The Green Mile was wrongly punished and charged with murder. Even though he had a golden heart and was constantly making efforts to make the world a better place when he was about to be killed citizens felt nothing but hatred towards him. While this movie may not be based on real-life facts, it’s not impossible to have a similar situation in reality. Therefore, a lifetime in prison would be beneficial for everyone as criminals are kept away from society, citizens are safe and any potential mistakes by the judicial system can be undone. No matter how much damage and harm the criminal has done, no human should be given the death penalty, and no one should have the right to do so. When criminals are contained and put behind bars, society is safe again and they can do no harm anymore. Moreover, depending on the context of the situation the option of parole must be considered thoroughly. And of course, if at some point in the future, it is proven that the criminal is innocent, the court should allow the person to enjoy life again. For example, in March 2020 the court found Daniel Villegas to be wrongfully accused and ordered the police to release him immediately. All in all, murderers and other criminals should not be punished with the death penalty. Regardless of whether the person is guilty or innocent, a lifetime in prison with no option for parole must be the biggest act of punishment. No one should have the right to determine whether a person should be allowed to live or be executed.