should mobile phones be prohibited in public places

Whether mobile phones should be prohibited in public places ignites a debate. Some people believe that this could exert positive impacts on work environment while others claim that the usage of mobile phones contributes to facilitating communication between people. I partly support the statement on the following grounds On the one hand, there are several benefits of using mobile phones. You can contact immediately to anyone you like instead of waiting for their letters like the elderly did. Millions of people are able to access the internet in cafes, libraries, or other public places, which could help them always be up-to-date. Mobile phones have a variety of functions to keep you from not getting bored when waiting in lines in public places. What’s more, you can do online shopping, watching films, listening to music, even studying with only 1 device. Banning mobile phones would make it impossible to search for direction or products in a shopping mall in the easiest way. In fact, mobile phones also work wonders in emergency cases to rescue people in danger by contacting the concerned people. In most public online meetings, smart mobile phones are indispensable. They are seen as the most money and time-efficient tools to connect people regardless of physical distance. With searching functions attached, they bestow students such ideal opportunities to study and access the reservoir of information and knowledge instead of going to libraries, suffering pollution and congestion. On the other hand, their existence could exert detrimental effects on one’s life. Youngsters these days are addicted to mobile phones, which can lead to their poor eyesight. Moreover, mobile phone will cause a great deal of noise in public places needed to be quiet. For instance, in a library, the mobile ringtone or the phone conversation will distract and irritate people. By virtue of mobile phones’ usage in private means of transport, there had been countless accidents on a daily basis. Not only do people become irritated when hearing its noise in libraries, but work places could also be affected. Surveys have shown that excessive noise by mobile phones results in lower productivity in companies with many staff in addition to the growing incidence of robberies in the public places. People’s shouting and talking in bus via mobile phone are also seen as impolite. Intensive exposure to mobile phone might make people vulnerable to hearing impairment, depression, and autism In conclusion, although mobile phone is a big distraction, I hold firm to my belief that mobile phones should not be banned. Thus, there should be a restriction whenever people use it in public places.