Should Malaysia government punish LGBT

LGBT is an initialism that stands for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender which the term began to be used at the beginning in the mid-to-late 1980s. Even though LGBT is common around the globe, but it is unusual in Malaysia as majority from Malaysian citizen and Malaysia government want the LGBT to be punished. I agree with them because LGBT is contrary to tradition and religion, lowering the number of fertility in Malaysia in the future and it contribute to the increasing number people with health problems. First and foremost, LGBT is contrary to tradition and religion. This is because every tradition and religion in all around the globe only allow the marriage between man and woman. By looking from the definition of marriage from the ‘Oxford Dictionary Second Edition’, it said that marriage is a legal union of a man and woman as husband and wife. In this context, the man and the woman referring to the man and woman which are naturally births as a man and woman. LGBT is against the tradition and religion not only for Muslim but also Catholic because it is a sin as being LGBT is unnatural while in tradition, they believe that children are best raised by two opposite-sex parents. Thus, LGBT should be punished as it against the tradition and religion as it is unnatural and against the religion. Next, LGBT should be taken seriously in Malaysia's government as the arising of LGBT will decrease on fertility rate in Malaysia. Malaysia's target to have a 70 million population by 2050, cannot be achieved if the LGBT group in Malaysia are bigger then heterosexual as LGBT cannot give birth. According to Department Statistic Malaysia, the number of live births was 487957 in 2019 which decreased by 2. 8 percent as compared to 510945 in 2018. The decreasing of fertility will affect the number of children as these children will become one of Malaysia’s administrative in the future. This is others reason why Malaysia government should punish LGBT. Lastly, the LGBT group tends to have health problems. This health problem may come from depression, suicidal thoughts and self-harm which leads them to take excessive alcohol and another substance misuse. As stated in the Journal of Medicine, the prevalence of heavy drinking was highest among bisexual men which is 10. 9% compared with heterosexual is 5. 7%. Excessive alcohol consumption over a long period will result in liver cirrhosis. Based on the statistic, it shows that LGBT group will have a high tendency to get health problems which it can harm themselves. To summarize, LGBT is uncommon in Malaysia as it is more negative compared to positives. It not only will effect our tradition and religion but also the rate of population in Malaysia in the future and it will increase the number of Malaysian citizens that facing health problems. This proves that Malaysia government should punish LGBT according to the Malaysia’s law.