Nowadays, teenagers spend an excessive amount of time on doing unproductive activities, such as watching television and playing video games.

Nowadays, teenagers spend an excessive amount of time on doing unproductive activities, such as watching television and playing video games. I strongly agree that youngsters spend their free time unwisely, poor time management and peer influence are the key factors. In most cases, young people are lack of self control. Due to the coronavirus situation, schools are closed and students need to attend online classes. Generally, students spend approximately four to five hours on the online classes and submit their homework online. Learning time is much less than before. They also have more freedom to control their time since teachers are not guiding them. Moreover, they do not have a chance to go out to do exercise. As a result, youngsters spend an unreasonable amount of time at home on doing unproductive things. In addition, peers influence is another reason. At this stage, young people are developing their personality and attitude and hope to find their role model. They put friendship as a higher priority as they spend much time together. Moreover, when young people want to feel accepted and valued by friends, they will follow their friends’ interest or hobbies. If a group of friends are playing a new video game, a juvenile tends to buy that game because he/she wants to have a common topic with them. It also creates peer pressure. If someone does not follow them, they may not be friends in future. Therefore, peers' influence leads youngsters to use their time inefficiently. To sum up, youngsters are not put the time to good use. I strongly believe that poor time management and peer influence are the main reasons.