Should immigrants accept the new culture? Topic: Some people think immigrants should accept the new culture as their own. Others believe that they should keep their own culture. Discuss both views and give your opionion

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are migrating to other countries than ever before. This raises questions about the integration of newcomers into society. Although some people claim that immigrants should maintain their own culture, I personally believe that it is the responsibility of immigrants to adapt to the new culture of their adopted countries. People who believe that immigrants should respect and accept the new culture argue that it can afford immigrants a fair chance to succeed. Specifically, immigrants would avoid many conflicts and interact with locals successfully, especially in the workplace, if they adopt the local culture and customs. For example, in western culture, people usually keep a distance from each other when having a conversation. Thus, obviously, those immigrants who adhere to this custom are more likely to be welcomed. In addition, because of their willingness to merge into the new culture, they, more often than not, integrate into the new society more quickly than their reluctant counterparts and tend to have a better chance to succeed. Yet others claim that immigrants keeping the culture of their home countries would benefit the society. The main reason is that a mixture of different cultures and traditions could give a country color and vibrancy. However, such an argument ignores the fact that too much culture diversity undermines a society by alienating people from each other. It is because similarities unite people whereas differences have a tendency to divide. Conversely, culture assimilation contributes to reducing hostility and improving the mutual understanding between immigrants and locals, thereby creating a harmonious society. To conclude, adapting to new cultures of the host countries is beneficial to both immigrants and society and I am convinced that it is essential for immigrants to make an effort to do so.