Should governments make decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

People have the right to follow what lifestyle they believe as long as it does not affect anyone else. However, it is stated that their lifestyle should be controlled by the authority. I partly agree with that idea. This essay will demonstrate both views which are why the government should intervene in people’s lifestyle and the opposition. To begin with, some people have lots of bad habits that could influence the public adversely. For example, smoking has a negative impact on smokers as well as people around. If there is no law to regulate that activity in the public, numerous innocents may have lung problems just because they incidentally inhale smoke which comes from others. Furthermore, other addictive drugs such as heroin, cocaine, and so on, which can threaten life quality. Specifically, the increasing number of addicts can reduce the working productivity of a country. Therefore, it is necessary to eliminate any society’s vices by governments. On the other hand, The deep intervention of governments can lead to the loss of freedom. In some democratic countries, the citizens do not have free speeches. They can not speak up against government’s violation even though they witness it with their own eyes. In such countries, the government can send them to jail for opposition. That leads to creativity and productivity of workers lower than counterparts from other countries where their citizens can decide what lifestyle they want. For instance, in North Korea, the residents are not permitted to leave their nation, any actions considered against the government can make them end up in jail. Thus, it is a poor country and it usually needs donations from other countries. In conclusion, it will be a win-win solution if governments play a role in managing people’s lifestyle. They can use their power to prohibit inferior lifestyle and encourage superior habits.