It is a common aspiration among many young people to run their own business, rather than work for an employer. Do you think the advantages of working for yourself outweigh the drawbacks?

A large percentage of young people are of the opinion that it is better to work as an employee, rather than to own a business. Their thinking is often disregarded, as they do not yet have work experience. However I firmly believe that they are in the right, and the benefits of working for your own company outweigh its negatives. Every student should look for opportunities to open a business as early as possible. Employees will at some point experience burnout after decades of work. They will come to the realization, that they cannot live out their entire life working. The alternatives are then to retire or live off their savings, but those are often not available nor are efficient. Naturally opening a business is always an option, but with an already solid income and a family to support it might be irresponsible to do so. Hence why I believe that every person with an opportunity should at least think about opening their own business, since when successful, it may provide a passive income later on with minimal work. Even if it is unsuccessful the knowledge gained is invaluable. From finance to communication and business management; from know-what to know-how, the skill and experience of running a company is unmatched by even higher education. Even with a failed startup behind them employers are more likely to hire people with such backgrounds, because of their perspective and experience. The only downside is the financial uncertainty of being employed by yourself. It is understandable that there are people without a strong enough financial background to think about starting their own business. In conclusion each person has to decide individually if it is worth for them to take these risks associated with starting a business. In the majority of cases however I firmly believe that is worth it to do so, as the negatives pale in comparison to the benefits.