Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake. Regadless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university ?

Today in the century of modern technologies and competition there are some people who think that colleges and universities should give only professional knowledge with focus on career and others believe that students should take any courses they want regardless of their profession. I am a student and I have third view on the problem.  But first let us discuss motivation for the first two opinions. So, knowledge and skills needed on a job place are essential for everyone. To become rich person who can be sure that his or her family will always be financially safe you need to have high salary. And to have one, person must be better and more qualified professional in comparison with other candidates. For this, student must have fundamental background of high quality knowledge in working subject. This can only be achieved through hard work in professional growth. I think people with "only major study" thinking have similar thoughts in their heads. They think students should always grow only in our professional spheres and not be interested in other things which is nonsense. When you are a student you have so much free time to try everything you want and you should not be prisoned by your own major. The second group of people are not so conservative. They want undergraduates, graduates and PHD students to take any subject this students want. I am not sure of this strategy either. There are millions of people who are not sure of what they want from this life and their career. If you give them freedom to choose everything they want, students may take courses that have nothing in common and finally they will graduate with light knowledge in many spheres but will fail in finding jobs. You cannot be professional in several areas studying each of them for one or two semesters. In my personal opinion, universities should have a mail plan for students to become professional in one sphere and also one or two courses not linked to a major for general growth. From my experience as an engineer student, sometimes you need classes where you can think and talk about something else. This strategy is golden middle for students to have both high quality education and personal life with many interests.