Should foreign language learning be compulsory at school?

Foreign language learning should be mandatory at primary school for many reasons. Firstly, it is a good point to develop fluency in more than one language. At a young age, children are always curious and enthusiastic to explore and learn new knowledge. New words, new cultures, new sounds combined with materials and teaching methods make them feel interested in and really want to discover more. Besides, at this age, their brain is flexible when receiving and producing the target language. They do not learn many subjects at primary school so their memory can be stored easier. Moreover, many surveys show that children's ability to imitate is very good. They can listen and repeat short sounds with the same pronunciation and intonation as the way they learn their mother tongue. These factors are very important when acquiring a language. Secondly, it can be considered a way to prepare for their future. Through learning another language, they can study other cultures, customs, and festivals. They may have a chance to get a better job in the future. Language competency and cultural knowledge are vital for children to become global citizens in the age of economic integration. In conclusion, pupils should be required to learn a foreign language at primary school.