Rethinking Inteligence and others

Intelligence is the ability to learn from experience and to adapt to. We can’t change, increase or decrease it, as we were all born with it. Unfortunately, nowadays we have got a conception of intelligence that is narrow, questionably scientific, ultimately self-defeating and self-serving. Intelligence also that you can learn through your life and experiences. This is called “adaptive” intelligence. For many years, scientists have tried to develop tests that determine a person's intelligence. But the first one was created in 1905 by Alfred Binet, the co-creator of intelligence test. His main goal was to introduce mental “orthopedics” and help children become smarter and give them all the opportunities. But after his death, English psychologist, Charles Spearman discovered test the idea structure of which was used in the creation of the well known test-IQ(intelligence quotient) test. He said that abilities tend to correlate with each other. Does it do justice to the knowledge and skills needed to solve the problems we face today? I think that IQ Tests are far from real problems, they show differences between racial and ethnic groups, they do not take into account important skills for everyday life, such as creativity, common sense and wise thinking. Thet need to teach students to create a better world, and we can do so by changing the ways we test. At school, we should be taught to focus on real problems, not artificial, contrived ones. The examples of such problems are endless and include problems of interpersonal interactions, as well as those of global climate change, pollution, gun violence, poverty, racism, xenophobia, terrorism, and so on. Formulas for calculating the roots of an equation or an equation will not help us cope with problems in adult life.