Should colleges and universities require students to take physical education classes?

Health issues have always been a top concern for more than a decade. In recent years, colleges and universities have included physical education classes in their curriculum. Some schools require students to take physical education classes, leading some to argue that it is not as important as other courses. In this essay, I will give my opinion on this matter. There are many opinions that there should be physical education classes for students. The number of young people suffering from health problems due to inactivity has increased significantly in the past decade. One of the reasons why they do not have time for exercise is their studies. They said their study time took up most of the day and the rest was spent going to work and doing homework. Lack of exercise easily leads to common diseases such as obesity and diabetes. On the other hand, it is suggested that physical education classes should not be made compulsory. They reasoned that instead of attending physical education classes, that time should be spent studying and improving grades. Some students reported that they would choose classes associated with their fields over physical education classes. In conclusion, forcing students to attend physical education classes is beneficial to their health. However, there is no denying that they need time to dedicate to their major. In my opinion, instead of holding physical classes during the main school time, classes should be opened in the summer semesters. This is not only the right time to participate in sports activities, but also does not affect their studies.