Should animals be kept in zoos?

When the topic of zoos’ establishment comes into view, there exists conflicting ideas. Some people believe zoos should be made to keep animals as they will be protected from potential danger, while others are convinced capturing animals is inhumane because humans do not reserve the right to do so. As far as I am concerned, although zoos bring about numerous benefits, it is not always that simple. Both humans and animals can benefit from the establishment of zoos. First of all, education about wild animals can be easily accessible to everyone with the help of zoos. For example, when people get to see the animals in person, chances are the experience will become undoubtedly memorable and can further generate interest among the public. As a result, not only can people acquire a better understanding about animals, but they are also able to decide whether or not studying wildlife animals will be an ambition. Secondly, most endangered species can be protected within the zoo’s environment from habitat loss or intimidating predators. For instance, instead of roaming around alone, an animal which is on the verge of extinction will be offered a better shelter if they are kept in zoos. This directly suggests how much zoos contribute to taking care of and providing spaces for animals that are vulnerable to looming threats from the outside world. However, everything comes with its drawbacks, and zoos are no exception. Firstly, even though many endangered species are threatened by imminent dangers, they still have the right not to be confined in zoos. For example, an animal might suffer from boredom, stress and confinement if they are held in captivity. No matter how much humans try to entertain and make them feel like home, nothing can be compared to freedom in the wild. Furthermore, it is much better to study animals’ behaviours in the wild, where they are able to do whatever they like without being forced to carry out people’s commands to keep visitors entertained. Thus, witnessing dolphins diving for fish in their habitats is much more natural than seeing them doing tricks at the zoo. Finally, humans will be in peril if some animals break out. For instance, fierce animals such as lions or tigers might rebel against their confinement and eventually manage to escape. Consequently, innocent people within and outside the zoo will be attacked or seriously injured, zoos are responsible for such occurrences. In conclusion, zoos are both advantageous and disadvantageous. They aid people in gaining better insights into wild animals, as well as protect endangered species from impending dangers. However, humans have no right to hold animals in captivity when they can learn about animals in their own habitats much better, and the chances of animals attacking humans will also be reduced. To maximize the advantages, zoos should be more attentive to the needs of confined animals with a view to providing the best living environments.