should a government be allowed to control prices of certain food items, oil, and/or medicine? Explain the advantages and disadvantages of price control.

Some people think that the government should be allowed in controlling prices of commodities such as, food items, oil, and/or medicine. Although these may be an advantage to others, I believe that the government should not have any control in the market. In this essay I will examine the advantages and disadvantages of price control. There are many positive effects when government has full control of prices. One example is the stability of the supply and demand chain in the food market. Having such control can lessen the society’s overspending in food that could result to food waste. Another is by increasing oil prices, there will be a significant decline in numbers of car used for transportation. This may eliminate most of the CO2 emissions therefore can help lessen global pollution. Lastly, controlling the prices of medicines could mean accessibility. For example, in Canada the government offers free prescriptions to children and to senior citizens. That being said, it can bring positive impact in the health sector by reducing number of illnesses and prolonging of life. However, there are disadvantages in allowing the government to gain control. For instance, having such control in the food market can sometimes result to inflation if there was incorrect balance in the food chain. As a result, people in the low-income bracket would suffer and may not be able to afford if the prices peaked. Also, the oil industry will fail if the prices were not in control of the market. Finally, there will be prolific changes in the health sector. A lot of people in the middle ages could suffer from diseases because the middle-aged could not afford buying expensive medications. To sum, there may be positive developments when government takes full responsibility in price control. However I believe that these benefits far outweigh the disadvantages it can bring to the people.