In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Novels and TV series about crime are showing a tendency of growing popularity in several nations. Writers and producers see a demand, and they try to fulfil it, however, I think this genre implements a number of serious problems in society. First of all, crime genre encompasses not only crime scenes but also action and peril which increases adrenaline release in the brain of the spectator. This human nature which seeks some raise in adrenaline levels carves us to watch or read more and more crime-related shows and literature. Producers and writers know about this behaviour of consumers and try to keep them watching and reading products of the mentioned genre more frequently. For example, scientific research among crime genre lovers in the USA has concluded that there is a similar motion in the brain while watching crime genre and smoking. They are both involving the same area of the brain which is dependent on our habits. There can be drawbacks of exposure to the crime genre in a long term. Psychology of observers, especially if they are children, can be damaged by seeing or reading about criminal activities. They could come familiar with weapons, illegal acts and drugs, which could be settled in their subconscious as normal things. For instance, recent research indicates that in Turkey the number of criminal bands has increased, after a decade an organized crime drama “Valley of the Wolfs” was released. In conclusion, it’s normal to see crime novels on bookshelves and crime dramas on TVs as they are produced to supply the demand. However, there must be controlled airtime for series and quota for books of this genre.