Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Preserving archaic objects or restoring it with modern substitutes has always been a perplexing dilemma humans had to face from the time immemorial; whatever be the arena. As in every conflicting topic, here also both the parties have a plethora of arguments in favor of their opinions. When it comes to the conservation of historical buildings, it's about the legend and culture of the particular country or region. Every wall and every pillar of the structure has enormous number of tales to tell. It's from those ruins and remnants people unravel the mysteries of past. The cities like Paris, which retain it's old architecture are renowned tourist attractions; the proof that men always yearn for the magnificent legacy which shapes the contemporary world. Yet the other side of the debate is drenched in miseries not in mysteries. The dread of impending dangers hovers over these constructions. The accidents from these establishments in worn out condition, pose as Damocles' sword. In such a case, people prioritize lives over legacy. In short, there are pros and cons to the argument. The finest way will be to find a solution to safeguard the buildings and remodify it in such a way that it doesn't affect it's grandeur and at the same time it can no longer be a threat to the lives of people.