Shortening of salary gap in an organisation

This is one of the most discussed topics. While some may believe that the salary gap in an organization should be shortened, I believe otherwise. I strongly believe that the gap between highest paid salary and lowest paid salary shouldn’t be minimized. The main idea behind not cutting down the wage gap is, it can impart to a sense of dissatisfaction amongst the highly paid group since they must have invested a hefty amount of time as well as money on their education in order to reach to the level at which they are currently. Also, this can make them feel demotivated which can again lead to poor performance. Moreover, most of the organizations these days have a well-established salary structure which is designed while taking into consideration the hierarchy of the organization. This is done solely on the basis of the skills of the employees. So, making any tweaks to this already existing structure can lead to many other severe problems in an organization. Not minimizing the wage gap can impart healthy competition amongst the employees which can work as an effective driving force not only for the lower salary group, but for the entire organization, to work more harder and upskill themselves so that they can excel in the organization professionally and improve their pay grades. Not to mention, the organizations these days are very well aware of their social responsibilities and so the employer always makes sure that the salary structure is designed in such a way that it promotes social equality.