Nowadays, people prefer to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the age of technology, there is an increasing number of people using their cellphones and tablets to communicate with people on the internet. Day by day, they become passive and prefer talking to other people online to meeting them face to face. There is a sad fact that most people nowadays have more friends on the internet than in their real life. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead to some unexpected consequences. One serious problem is the isolation. After the internet had been found, there is a number of people choose chatting online at home instead of going to the cafés, restaurants, parks, etc. to meet their friends as they used to do in the past. Communicating on the internet is very convenient, but it deters us from going out and meeting people in real life. We just stay at home and chat to them online. Keeping this routine for a long time make them isolate themselves to the community. This kind of isolation is harmful for their physical and even mental health. One more issue is that people can get dissatisfaction in their relationships with people around. In other words, as people become more interested in making friends online and spend time with them, has led to less interaction with people such as blood relatives and friends in real life. Therefore, they can face some difficulties in talking with people in real life because they use most of time chatting online instead of meeting people face to face. As a result, socializing online lead to the loss of connection between people and people in real life. Last but not least, communicating to people we don’t know on the internet is very risky. They can use fake identity like CEO, or fake photos of beautiful girls and handsome guys, in order to attract more people connecting to them and hiding their characteristics. Vulnerable people such as teenagers and women are the baits that can be trapped in this trap easily. That is to say, connecting to strangers online can make people to get closer to the dangers, especially teenagers and women. In conclusion, although socializing onlines bring us numerous benefits, it still has some negative effects that give us lots of troubles in real life such as isolation, dissatisfaction in relationships and creating dangers in life. I would say that this is a negative development that we have to deal with this problem in the near future, in order to build a civilizing community.