Shortage of houses has become a severe problem in the cities today and only the government can solve this problem. with this.

The major problem associated with population explosion is the inability to provide the basic amenities like shelter. The government has a crucial role to play in finding space to occupy the huge population. I completely agree with the notion as governments alone have the authority to set and implement rules regarding housing. To commence with, there are numerous ways in which the growing population can be accommodated, planning new cities being the pivotal one. Formation of new cities will not only provide space to build shelter for the public, but also will allow the relocation of industries to provide more space in the densely populated areas. For instance, the Government of Maharashtra built a new city of Navi Mumbai to ensure home for the rapidly growing population. Besides, governing bodies can encourage the vertical development instead of increasing the number of landed houses as well as insist the people to occupy the flats. Furthermore, wise planning of the available space in a way to make maximum utilization of the available land could also act as a solution to the problem. Hence, it is evident that governing bodies can take vital decisions to tackle the problem of housing shortage. Probing further, governments can also monitor the unused land in the outskirts of the cities where no agriculture or other industrial activities are possible. These areas could be used to build houses for the public. For instance, the survey department of the government has the records of land availability and this can be of help to solve the issue. This explains the role of government in curbing the issue. On the other hand, there is a minor role that could be played by the individuals. Those who possess multiple properties as traditional land could share it for building houses and apartments so that it will help in lessening the burden on the government. However, as not many people have numerous possessions this solution has only minor significance. In conclusion, though individuals have a slight role in curbing the housing problem in cities, the responsibility lies mainly on the governments as the making of rules and regulations and monitoring is possible only by the governing bodies.