Shops should open for 24 hours a day

Some places like gas stations or fast-food restaurants are often open 24/7 which makes it easy for people to access essential goods anytime. Some people are debating whether grocery stores should do the same as they might find it hard to find a time to shop with a busy work schedule. But will it be worth it? Imagine if you had a work schedule with shifts from 5 a. m. to 5 p. m. If all the shops closed at 5 in the afternoon, how would you ever be able to shop for food and other essentials? People could really benefit from shops opening 24/7 as you can shop anytime. As a result, the lives of many people will become much more convenient. On the other hand, think about how much energy stores would waste. If it was a scorching or freezing day, stores can’t just blast the aircon all day. All the money that they profit will just be lost on this unnoticed expense. This applies with the lights too. If there aren’t suitable conditions for customers, no-one will come! Following that, it will be very hard to find workers to work overnight. There will be hardly anyone who is willing to work at this time which will make it harder for less people to do it by themselves. Also, if the shop is open all day, how will it get cleaned and re-stocked? This will make the cleaner’s job extremely difficult to find a time were no-one is inside just to mop the floor. Despite this, companies pay huge salaries for night-shift workers. Thus, they can spend this money on their own and their family needs. A study by The New York Times showed that more than 60 percent of employees are satisfied with 24*7 stores because of high salaries. This can also provide more jobs for the ones that are more desperate for money. After weighing the reasons, I believe that stores should not be open for 24 hours a day sine it wastes so much energy that there will be no point in even extending the hours. Right now, I feel like we all should just stick to gas stations.