Shopping is the favorite pastime for most young people. Why do you think is? Do you think they should be encouraged to do other useful activities?

Shopping is the most famous and preferred pastime among the younger generations. I think this is because they are exposed to marketing tactics from a very young age and are influenced by these tactics. I think that youngsters should be encouraged to focus on other useful activities for their benefit. Primarily, the principal reason why youngsters these days are all interested and prone to shopping is because of target marketing. Products these days are targeted and made appealing to the youth, especially fashion and technology. The advertisements and marketing have made the buying of goods and a part of life for everyone, especially the young minds. The recent generations are more prone to shopping as it is necessitated by peer pressure to stay updated with the recent trends. For instance, everyone feels the impulse to buy the most recent and updated smartphones. The younger generations must be encouraged to engage in other hobbies as shopping can develop into a dangerous addiction that can be financially detrimental to themselves and their families. Firstly, young adults and youngsters easily succumb to temptation and this might result in shopping for expensive products which they might not be able to afford. The youth must think practically and must engage in productive activities as hobbies that aid their development. For instance, exercising, sports, and yoga are activities that are beneficial to health. Also, these activities are economical and considered productive by consensus. To conclude, shopping is the most favored pastime for many youngsters. This is due to marketing as well as peer pressure. However, youth should indulge in other recreational activities which are beneficial to their health and well-being in general.