It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent.

Major group of people believe that the death sentence is a significant way to curb the rising crime rate, whereas another section of the society thinks lifetime imprisonment is better solution. This essay will discus both the views, taking in account the respective reasonings and examples. To commence with, the more efficient the law and order situation in any area, the lesser is the crime rate. Since, there is nothing worse than the fear of death, so serving the criminals with the most harsh punishment i. e. death penalty creates a feeling of fear amonst the sinner and hence results in declining the crimes taking place. For instance, after the implementation of the law "Death penalty on raping a teenagaer" in New Delhi, the rapes happening now has almost reduced to zero. On the contrary, while the increasing heinous crimes should be an alarming topic, it should also be kept in consideration that every life is precious and valuable and we must not take away the right to live from anyone. The criminals commiting odious sins should be instead given life long sentence in prisons. Also, it is believed that counselling can do wonders, therefore, the prisoners should be given counselling to become better human beings. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that while death penalties have successfully improved the law and order situation and hence resulting in substantial decrease in the crime rates in some areas, whereas it has also been noticed that life imprisonment have also been helpful in curbing the increasing heinous crime ratio.