Sharing of Information - opinions

It is not uncommon to have different opinions on sharing the information. Data or information is the new gold in this modern era and plays a crucial role. Sharing of information depends on a lot of factors like the content that is to be shared, the targeted audience, the impact that it could create, etc. Firstly, information has to be classified into categories. The different categories can be confidential, very confidential, public, and private information. Confidential information refers to content that cannot be shared in public and could be shared between two or more designated parties. Very confidential indicates the information that is not supposed to be shared within an organization or business and can be shared only to referred persons. Sharing of very confidential information could lead to misuse of information and has the possibility of creating greater damage. Private information is referred to the content that is shared within an organization or the business which could create higher impact to the very own organization or business. Whereas, public information is the content that can be shared to anyone. A good example could be a goverment policy that every citizen should be aware of, academic information or news every student should have access to, etc. Secondly, the target audience plays a key deciding factor in sharing information. When it comes to scientific research it is best to keep the information available to scientists, researchers who share common interests and could make use of it in a constructive manner. Business information is shared between the parties involved in the business. It could be a client-vendor, client-client or vendor-vendor relations. Academic information is shared to students, researchers, scientists and even public as it is considered as the knowledge that everyone should have access to without restrictions. Thirdly, sharing of information needs a regulation that can control the content that is being shared and the audience to which it is shared. These regulations bring an efficient and secured way of sharing information. Everyone who access or creates information should be made responsible for sharing it and must follow access control policies. These policies should be designed as per the need. There have been many instances where leakage of information has created greater damage to individuals, organizations, and businesses across the world. For example, leaking of information such as future business deals could lead to insider trading and leaking of banking information of an individual could lead to online money fraud. Finally, sharing of information depends on the content type, the audience to whom it is going to be shared, and what impact it could create if it is shared with wrong audience. A robust regulatory framework is much needed in this aspect to avoid misuse of information and everyone who has access to information is made accountable for avoiding misuse of information.