Sharing information freely or by restriction

The unbelievable progress in the field of science and technology in the recent decades would be impossible without sharing information with generosity. While some argue that information sharing should be maximized without restrictions, others including me think it must be under control. This essay discusses both viewpoints. Some argue for the maximum level of sharing information. First of all, this approach saves time since otherwise a great deal of research would be repetitive and millions of hours would be spent on achieving the same results around the globe. A more synchronized research with collective targets would be imaginable if sharing the information is the priority. Secondly, the pace of progress in science and academic world will increase drastically as many studies pave the way for future breakthroughs. Having access to the results of thousands of studies worldwide each year enables a scientist to directly benefit from contribution of others and have numerous hours to observe, ponder and broaden their horizon. Yet others maintain that because of the outstanding value of some information, there should be a limit on how much is to be shared. First of all, unchecked information sharing inevitably discourages new lines of research since the results will be revealed for free. In today’s world, where financial incentive for every serious activity is the key, the charitable nature of free display of results will be proved disastrous. Secondly, the risk that some sensitive information may fall into the wrong hands should not be overlooked. Terrorists groups around the world, for instance, undoubtedly seize every opportunity and abuse free information related to say nuclear facilities or water treatment plants to launch lethal terror attacks. In conclusion, while there are valid arguments for free sharing of information, the benefits of limiting such approach is enormous and I am personally convinced that more benefits can be gained when sharing information is controlled by imposing some limitations.