Sfudenfs in school should leorn ocodemic subjecls ond poss exorns. Ofher skltls such os cookery, dressmoking ond woodwork con be leornl well from fomily ond friends. Do you ogree or disogree?

I disagree with the given statement, which says that domestic sciences such as cooking, sewing and woodworking should not be included in the school curricula. There are countless advantages of having craft education classes in schools, which I shall discuss in the upcoming paragraphs. First, craft education helps mold and develop children as strategic and logical thinkers. lt can only be gained from the practical application of doing something, building something and creating somethlng. lt cannot be learnt from memorizing facts from a book and regurgitating them in the exam. Secondly, craft education improves the intelligence level of students. Recent researches in neuroscience claim that there is a direct correlatlon between fine motor skills, hand eye coordination and the development of the brain. 5o, students do better in other subjects also. lt also teaches students to concentrate and focus. This helps students who have problems with sitting still and listening in class. Another very good advantage of craft education is that it takes away gender stereotypes. Both boys and girls learn how to knit and sew and cook. Both boys and girls learn how to woodwork and hammer and use power tools. They are seen as equally important skills, and not just for one gender or the other. Furthermore, through craft education students can learn maths through real life applications. They would need a lot of math when they are measuring, designing and planning their pro. iects. Craft education allows them to see how mathematics is used and applied in the real world, instead of just telling them that math is important and applicable to their lives. Finally, such classes teach students patience and perseverance. Making something, especially something worthwhile, ls often a slow and tedious process. Delayed gratification and the ability to stick with a project until the very end is an important life lesson to teach students. Advocates of having purely academic currlcula In schools, say that the number of subjects in schools is already too hlgh. They believe that parents should teach these things at home. What they fail to see is that the young parents of today are lacking these skills themselves. So, how can they teach their children what they themselves do not know? Also, if both parents are working, they don't have the time and patience to sit with the chlld and do these things. To sum up, cooking, woodworking dressmaking etc. are important subjects, which need to be incorporated at a younger aBe. Children need to see the practical applications of their education.