Several decades ago, most people in modern economies worked in the same organisation for the majority of their working life. Today, it is very likely that a person may be employed in upwards of a dozen companies throughout their career. Some people believe that job security was more important in the past, while today’s employees want greater job satisfaction and are therefore willing to change jobs quickly.

In the twentieth century of new economy, most of the individuals preferred to stay longer in the company. However, in today’s world people are likely to switch to different companies in their whole life. It is true that securing one’s career was imperative in the past but nowadays one would want to have meaningful job with satisfaction. In my opinion, I completely agree with this trend which has both merits and demerits. It is an undeniable fact that sticking to one company can help a person to plan their lifestyle appropriately. One need not to change their house location frequently and moreover one can have lifelong job at work in which they are competent and good enough. To illustrate, in order to attain a higher position in a firm, one of my father’s friends worked for 15 years to became CEO of one company. Thus, I believe people in old days were more towards having social status in a society. One the contrary, in the current decades’ employees are often after the work which they admire for. We are fortunate to have companies which offer complacent job and to get such opportunity one jumps from one company to another. For instance, a friend of mine, Sheena, who switched to three different companies to find a job in analytics. In a nutshell, I would like to conclude by saying that it is essential to have a job which gives immense happiness. However, one cannot neglect or ignore the importance of credibility that one can achieve by working in a single firm for longer period.