Serious violent crimes among people who are under-18 are becoming more common. Some people think that children who commit serious crimes should be treated like adults, while others would say that they should be rehabilitated.

Some would argue that teenagers should face the same charges as adult criminals, while others believer that they should be placed in a rehabilitation center. Although it may seem fair to put a young criminal in jail, it does not help our society in the long term. From the victims’ point of view they deserve a justice which usually means to put the murder into jail. However, a crime committed by young people is a different case. Young criminals are not fully developed mentally and physically, so often they are not aware of the consequence of the result. Placing them in jail will not prevent or stop further crime from happening. In fact, many young criminals keep committing crime when they become adults, and it is because they are never given a chance to learn to be a normal adult. Therefore, I believe this is not the best approach to the minor criminals. On the other hand, many young criminal suffer from various neglect or child abuse in their early lives, so rehabilitation center can provide them with the treatment that they need. Committing a crime is a way to release their anger although it is illegal but it is the fastest and easiest thing for them to do. Jail time will not help them to learn how to release their anger and learn how to adapt to society, but rehabilitation centers can help these young children. Therefore, I strongly believe giving young criminals a second chance to learn and to do the right thing is the best way to handle the minor criminals. In conclusion, young criminal and adult criminal both committed something bad; However, a minor is not fully mature, and they should not be treated as an adult because it will not stop them from doing it in the future.