In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Youth in many countries are motivated for taking a break after completing their high school and are asked to explore working or traveling before beginning their higher education. This essay discusses about the benefit in how young people, after graduation can save money by working for a year and use it for paying fees for further studies. However, a year without studies can often lead to low or no motivation for higher studies. In this expensive world, it is really important to have savings, hence, students after schooling are encouraged to work for a year and are asked to save money. The savings then can be used to pay for the study fee of the university. My younger brother who lives in Canada, is working for a customer representative company after completing his high school, and has secured enough earnings for his higher study. He can now focus more on the studies during his time in completion of course or degree. As per a report of Hindustan Times, students who took break after high school for work, have secured great achievements during their academic course or degree as compared to those who chose to work while studying in order to pay for their fee. However, a year of gap after finishing secondary education can encourage student to not opt for studying further. People often become habitual of things that they do daily and they get in their comfort zone, this mis-leads them to continue what they are doing. In similar context, a student might get comfortable with a job that he/she does, and chooses not to study further. Many reports of British Times suggests that people in England who are working without any higher education are earning 50% less as compared to those who work after compelting their university studies. To summarize, younger generation should always keep in mind that work is important to earn savings, however one should not neglect the fact that job offerings and higher pay scales are more often preferred to those who have completed their higher education over people who did not.