seniors and health expectancy

It is indeed an encouraging trend that overall life spans have increased and it only shows the proportional index of health quotient enjoyed by a society at large. Even a few decades ago, the trends were different and people above 60, often addressed as senior citizens could only think of retirement and settling down in their places of comfort or with their children for a secured and relaxed last few years. But today there are the so called 'senior citizens' actively running academic institutions, mentoring fledgling organizations or even running their own enterprise with youthful energy and passion. The advantages that many years of experience can bring into a societies growth and maturity is invaluable. Often seen in mentoring roles, it is very advantageous to have the opinions and views of people who have seen it and done it all. Even though some of the thoughts may not directly be relevant but the idea behind it can be taken into consideration and mulled upon when it would come to important decisions. For instance, an entrepreneurial venture could highly benefit from financial advise from those who have seen cycles of production and service in close quarters. The context may well be different, but some of the suggestions and advise can be looked into with confidence. Even an element of risk taking can be done with confidence when you have some factual experience to back the claims. But it is often seen that once people retire from active service, their value is often disregarded and they become invisible for others. Many choose to stay out of lime light too and it could be a respected personal choice. But, in my humble opinion, it would be well worth the effort to approach these experienced minds on an advisory capacity to guide and handhold in areas where its appropriate. It would not only create a valuable thread of thoughts but also make them realise the respect they deserve for having seen and lived life closely.