Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. with this opinion?

Annually, an increasing number of local dialects cease to exist which is sometimes believed to be an insignificant issue as this only simplifies communication. I strongly disagree with this underestimated role of local languages as they not only form the natives’ perception of the world but also preserves priceless cultural knowledge of indigenous communities. A language is a window through which natives see the world and its loss might impair this natural perception. A community dialect by its nature is a unique way to store and structure information in the brain. To illustrate, the way people perceive colours differs significantly among speakers of different languages. For instance, the indigenous population of Canada is able to differentiate a number of shadows of green while the spectrum that Canadians can name is more limited. Therefore, having lost their language, this population would have their way of perception of information impaired if not completely destroyed. This damage cannot be compensated with a subjective simplicity of communication with fewer languages. Cognitive function apart, the variety of languages also facilitate multigenerational exchange which contributes to the preservation of the indigenous cultural heritage. The common language unites a community, making it more coherent, which is of the essence in today’s increasingly disconnected society. A prime example is some Indian communities in the US which, since their rights for education in the local language were acknowledged, have gone through a period of cultural revitalization when many traditions were brought back to life. Therefore, the local language allows a group to continue as a group and not to be culturally merged by the global society with its seemingly convenient communication in just a few international languages. In conclusion, I believe that endangered local dialects should be an issue of global concern. Even though a variety of languages might present a certain amount of difficulty for international communication, it is this diversity that preserves unique ways of perceiving the world along with the priceless cultural legacy of indigenous communities.