«Today, many people do not realise how important the natural world is. Why is this? How can people learn more about the importance of the natural world?

Little value is put on nature in today’s society. This attitude may be attributed to the fact that it is often taken for granted, which can be addressed by fostering environmental awareness through introducing educational initiatives. Because nature is freely accessible and seemingly nondepletable, people often take it for granted and overexploit it, failing to see long-term implications of their careless attitude. Having illusively infinite resources at their disposal, people attach little if any value to them until they are lost. Due to such lack of awareness, we cut down forests, overfish oceans and pollute rivers in pursuit of short-term financial interests. Not realizing the value and finitude of these readily available natural resources, many people fail to take into account the importance of the natural world. . To bring the value of the natural world to people, we can look at its long-term benefits for people and the economy. By initiating awareness programs, campaigns and movements aiming at preserving such natural wonders as the Great Barrier Reef, society can encourage people to learn more about cause-effect relationships the natural world is governed by. Being on the brink of irreversible destruction caused by overly intensive tourism, this once rich in marine resources natural community of reefs cannot provide any benefits anymore. If we show such examples of shortsighted overconsumption, people can become more aware of long-term consequences of every decision they make. In conclusion, little do people realize that nature is an illusively infinite treasure that is yet easy to lose which is a primary reason for their careless attitude. To make people aware of its worth, educational initiatives aimed at raising environmental consciousness should be put in practice.