senior high school students will either embark on higher education or enter the workforce after their education.

Traditionally, senior high school students will either embark on higher education or enter the workforce after their education. Whether students should take a gap year has been a controversial topic of concern in the education field. While there are few benefits to defer university enrollment, I believe that the influence of this trend is more glaring. Admittedly, high school graduates would reap potential benefits from their gap year. They will have more chances to get expose themselves to enrich life experience and hone their practical skills. During a year-long break, they can travel to any part of countries and embark on alien cultures. For example, students have to learn how to solve problems on their own, adapt to independent life, and learn new languages. Furthermore, senior students would have more time to explore themselves, as various high schools provide inadequate career guidance to students; therefore, sparing several months to seek a job or attend vocational training courses to identify suitable career paths. Despite the aforementioned advantages, the pronounced drawbacks are more significant. Returning to school after a long-year break, freshmen might drain their confidence due to the anxiety of falling behind in their studies as well as facing peer pressure. Additionally, high school seniors can lose momentum, finding it hard to resume their education after a long time being distracted from formal schooling. Last but not least, those young people are unlikely to save up or cultivate relevant job skills. This is because, without college qualification, it is mainly for them to work in entry-level jobs with little income and do not allow them to gain relevant professional skills. In conclusion, while taking a gap year is not without certain benefits. I contend that the given demerits do not make it a worthwide path.