Self Employment: Good or Bad?

Nowadays the idea of self-employment is getting popular. People prefers to start a business or other form of self-employment rather than working under an organization. In this essay, I’ll discuss the reasons behind this and advantages and disadvantages of this idea. There was a time when If, people could manage a job with a decent pay to work under a reputed organization would be happy. But this idea is getting outdated these days. People hold more entrepreneurial mindset. One of the reasons is the gap between job seekers and jobs available in the market. Managing a decent job is pretty difficult these days. The number of people looking for job is so huge that it takes month to get an interview call let alone the job. On the opposite, due the digitalization, there are lots of options open out there for business. People can do online business, online training on different topics, freelancing work, vlogging, youtubing and so on. All he/she needs is a smart phone or computer and basic managerial skill. For some case like freelancing, one doesn’t even need money as capital. I have a cousin who is a civil Engineer. He is earning a decent money by doing freelancing work like civil drawing. He gets work from all over the world. The whole can be market and all the people of the world can be their customer. Another reason is, when someone works in an organization, he/she must abide by the company rules. They must perform some certain responsibilities whether they like it or not. But in self-employment, there is no boss. He/she set their own rules. People are more independent here. There are both pros and cons of self-employment. The advantages are people can work whenever he likes or however he likes. Besides when a business is started, not only the owner gets benefited. It creates more job for other people too. Many people get employed. There are negative sides also. Opening up a new business is stressful. There are lot of works but no guarantee that the business will be successful. Even if it is a success, the situation may take a u turn at any moment. For instance, in current situation, many businessman has come to road due to coronavirus outbreak who had a profitable running business. Financial issue is also crucial. There needs initial investment. It may happen that there is no return in the initial stage. It is a huge stress for the person who needs to run a family. Again, if the strategy fails, it may leave the person as broke. At the end, it is my opinion that one should go for self-employment only if he/ she has the mental strength to take any adverse situation.