Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

The increasing use of some languages has led to a prospect that the world may speak one language in the future. While this has several advantages, I believe that it is an overall negative trend. On the one hand, it is true that having a universal language may remove communication barriers among people in the world. When the world speaks the same language, this would result in fewer misunderstandings caused by people using different languages to convey their thoughts. The benefits of a universal dialect may reverberate across the globe, as people could work for overseas companies, travel to exotic places or live in a foreign country without encountering any significant difficulties in communication. In this way, a predominant language may bridge the gap between diverse groups of people and form a global village where individuals can live in harmony with each other. On the other hand, I contend that the above positive impacts are negated by potential problems. Primarily, if one language were spoken by all people, this would cause the loss of cultural diversity that makes human society interesting. When a language is marginalized, a whole way of life may disappear with it, which includes history, customs and social etiquette. For example, the widespread use of English has put some minor and indigenous languages in Africa on the verge of extinction. Without proactive actions to preserve those languages, society might witness the disappearance of the whole culture that has evolved over the course of human history. In conclusion, although a universal language may have several benefits, I firmly hold the view that the drawbacks are more significant.