Scientists and the news media are presenting even more evidence of climate change. Government cannot be expected to solve this problem

Technological progress improves people’s lives, but at the same time it causes numerous problems, namely, climate changing. Although few would deny that protecting the environment is a humans’ duty, I find government to be of great power in a matter of fixing such problems as a greenhouse effect and global warming. On the one hand, I agree that solving these global issues requires the cooperation of all people around the world. A variety of measures can be taken in order to prevent our unique planet from suffering. First of all, scientists tend to encourage individuals to use public transport instead of driving a car. In this case less gasoline and gas would be burnt and consequently less carbon dioxide would be added to the atmosphere. In many cities, such as Berlin, Amsterdam, Paris, residents choose a bicycle over a car while moving around. Another step that needs to be taken for the sake of the Earth is to control the energy consumption. Special energy-saving devices are available nowadays and can be afforded by every person. In other words, if we simply try to stop poisoning air, water and lands, it will be a good start in protecting the world we live in. On the other hand, I strongly believe that essential actions must be arranged by the government to avoid dramatic consequences. Firstly, it is within the authorities’ power to minimize the process of deforesting large areas of lands. Otherwise, disappearance of flora can lead to nature disbalance and global warming. Secondly, some countries, including Russia, have already enacted laws concerning the air clearing, such as a policy against smoking in public places. More than that, supporting ecological organizations like “Greenpeace” would be beneficial for the planet as well. All in all, many canons can be made by the leaders to provide their people a better future. In conclusion, if we want our planet to stay a comfortable and suitable place for a living, every person, including the rulers, should be responsible for saving the ecology.